CD Review: Sanity Shattered - Iris EP

Sanity Shattered

Sanity Shattered is a Progressive Metal duo from the Florida Keys, USA. "Iris" is their debut EP, it has three tracks with a run-time of around fifteen minutes. This EP is a devastating storm full of quick riffs, crushing grooves, plus great song structures that are guaranteed to get your heart pumping and your head bobbing.

It immediately jumps into it's first track "Siren Song." Pounding you in the face with fast paced drums and what seems like a writhing demon on the vocals trying to pop out of your speakers to claim your soul. Suddenly the chorus hits and you find yourself bobbing your head to a side-winding groove, only to be thrown back into the demon's clutches again. Once more, you're spun around violently until a stop. A moment of clarity hits, then the storm fades almost as if to clean your pallete... when BOOM! The next song begins pummeling you immediately.

The second song on the EP is "Fallen" A very groove oriented song that gives the listener a feeling of trudging through ones own struggles as the clean vocals sound a little mournful at times. The powerful groove conveys a feeling of inner strength in desperate times; the driving force that keeps you going.

The third and final song, "Iris" allows one to feel the culmination of speed and groove as the storm reaches a critical point. It engulfs you in a whirlwind, the only relief being the soft call of the chorus, just to spit you right back out into the fray.

The entire EP is performed, recorded, mixed, and mastered by multi Instrumentalist Rob Qualls, with artwork and a few appearances in the music by Jami Leigh. The album itself feels like a raging storm of emotion, lyrically even more so. They convey ideas of being at the tumultuous epicenter of an event, making you feel the change, the ebb and flow as a result of being at the center of it all.

Their album is due for release on the 27th of February, 2017. Look out for it on their social media and website.

Sanity Shattered is:
Rob Qualls - Guitar, Vocals, Bass, Drums, and lyrics.
Jami Leigh - Vocals, Synth, Artwork, and lyrics.

All Artwork was used with permission from Sanity Shattered.

Back to blog